James Levenson, M.D., Neil Sonenklar, M.D, Bela Sood,  M.D., Joel Silverman, M.D. and Gerrard "Gerry" Moeller, M.D.  all named as Richmond Magazine's 2014 Top Docs 

The Department of Psychiatry's Inpatient Unit received a 2013 Beacon Award for Excellence, the first Psychiatry unit in the nation to receive the prestigious recognition. 

James Levenson, M.D.,  Neil Sonenklar, M.D, Bela Sood, M.D., and Cheryl Al-Mateen, M.D. all named as Richmond Magazine's 2013 Top Docs 

James Levenson, M.D. is named Richmond Magazine’s Top Doc in Psychiatry (2012) for the 5th straight year in a row.

Kenneth Kendler was honored as one of three recipients of the 2012 Virginia's Outstanding Scientists award.

Kenneth Kendler was awarded the 2011 Jean Delay Prize from the World Psychiatric Association

President Eugene P. Trani and Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Stephen D. Gottfredson recognized Mary Ellen Olbrisch, PhD for her outstanding accomplishments in the areas of teaching, scholarship, service and overall excellence and honored her with the Distinguished Faculty Award. Throughout her career and specifically in her 24 years at the Department of Psychiatry, at VCUHS, Olbrisch has maintained a tradition of service that has carried over to her roles as a clinical health psychology educator and practitioner. Dr. Olbrisch specializes in obesity and weight loss surgery, living organ donors, and post traumatic stress disorders. MORE

Susan G. Kornstein, MD has been chosen by Jewish Women International as a "Women to Watch" honoree for her work as a pioneer in women’s health. Kornstein, a professor of psychiatry and obstetrics/gynecology in the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine, is one of 10 women nationwide to receive the JWI’s national leadership award this year. MORE